De Unie Hasselt-Genk | An initiative of

Art in the public space

De ROCK show – Heterotopie, plaats van het anders zijn (place(s) of otherness) – Host: Erik Odijk

Emile Van Dorenmuseum – Genk

Together with a wide ensemble of acclaimed artists, Erik Odijk once more transformed the villa of landscape painter Emile Van Doren (1865-1949) into a halting-place. In the garden of the museum, you will find the ‘Verzamelplaats van Gedenkstenen voor Verloren Dierbaren’ (Erik Odijk), the ‘Voorspelmodule’ (Vaast Colson), ‘A meteorite named Erika’ (Erik Odijk) and ‘Een Landschap voor de schilder’ by Rudy J. Luijters. He performed a number of interventions in the garden, which will develop themselves in the upcoming years.

Inside the villa, you could see until 5 October 2014 testimonies of works that find their origin in the landscape and the metamodernist base.

Repository of memorial stones for lost loved ones

A stone as a symbol of remembrance. A stone as a ritual object to commemorate someone. A collection of stones to bring together all those thoughts and memories and transform them into a memorial monument. De ROCK show creates a place for these cherished stones. In that place, the meaning of the stones becomes unambiguous. It symbolises the personal treasuring and fascination that surround these items that were once picked up, or specifically sought out, as symbols and artefacts that form a personal memory of a bygone love. In this special place near the Emile Van Doren Museum in Genk, these personal memories, projected onto the sublime objects from prehistoric times, bind the energy and the emotional and mental power together into a collective energy.

Artists participating in De ROCK show

Artists participating in De ROCK show: Jean Bernard Koeman, Rudy J. Luijters, Ives Maes, Melanie Bonajo, Jimmie Durham, Franziz Denyz, Vaast Colson, Erlend Williamson, Tom Wolseley, Ania Rachmat, Lara de Moor, PINK de Thierry, François Roffiaen, supplemented with a Philosophers Stone and artworks from the collection of the Emile Van Doren Museum, a.o. Emile Van Doren (1865-1949), Joseph Coosemans (1828-1904), Ludovic Janssen (1888-1956), Herman Richir (1866-1942) and Elinor Barnard (1872-1942).

Idea and implementation: Erik Odijk (in collaboration with Bernie Deekens)
MAP – MakeArtProjects provides assistance to the artists for the coordination and production of De ROCK show.

Design of printed materials and billboard for Melanie Bonajo: Yvonne van Versendaal

With thanks to:
Z33, Toneelhuis Antwerpen, EWAF (Erlend Williamson Art Fellowship), the Kröller Müller Museum (Philosophers Stone), Gemeentemuseum Helmond (PINK de Thierry), Stedelijk Museum Ieper (François Roffiaen), Yvonne van Versendaal (design) and MAP – Make Art Projects (coordination and technical implementation), Kristof Reulens and Ann Gielen of the Emile van Doren Museum, Tom van Gestel, and of course initiator Erik Odijk, for his boundless energy and commitment.

Made possible by:
Melotte – Direct Digital Manufacturing

Erik Odijk

°1959, Deventer (NL), lives and works in Amsterdam and Nijmegen (NL)

Erik Odijk makes drawings of nature and is known for his immensely large works in which the viewer’s gaze can literally wander around. His work oscillates between the realms of the sublime (the great, rough and chaotic) and beauty (the small, smooth, soft and rich). During his travels abroad, Odijk seeks out special places in nature, which he captures on film. The making of the photograph is done in as precise a manner as the drawing itself and forms an essential part of his work. The photos upon which his drawings are based are often given an autonomous place in his work. After an intensive process of sifting through the available material, Erik Odijk translates his photographic imagery into charcoal and pastel drawings, on both large and small formats, both in his studio and on site.

www.erikodijk.nl

Duivelstenen (devil’s stones)

Erik Odijk, fascinated by geology and stone formation, was inspired by the typical devil’s stones of Genk. These are large hard sandstones with irregular shapes. Sometimes they include a sort of horseshoe-shaped imprint, reminiscent of the goat’s leg of the devil. There are devil’s stones at Kattevennen, in the woods near the entrance gate of the National Park Hoge Kempen.

Emile Van Doren

Emile Van Doren (b. Brussels, 1865 / +Genk 1949) was born into a Brussels family of butchers and studied briefly at the Faculty of Pharmacy of the University of Brussels. Unbeknownst to his parents, he had also enrolled in the Brussels Academy, where he found his true vocation and specialised in landscape painting. In around 1890, Emile Van Doren travelled to Genk, which at that time was a famous haven for artists and writers. Emile Van Doren fell in love, not only with the vast Campine landscape, but also with Cidonie Raikem, the manageress of an inn on the Stationsstraat. Together they turned this place into the Hotel des Artistes. From then on, the desolate moors, the shimmering and marshy swamps of Genk and its surroundings become the exclusive subject of his paintings. In 1913, Van Doren has the villa Le Coin Perdu built, overlooking the Molenvijver (Mill Pond), which today houses the Emile Van Doren Museum.

Emile Van Dorenmuseum

The Emile Van Doren Museum tells the story of the special place Genk was for painters in the period between 1840 and 1940. The museum bears the name of one of the painters who, after one initial visit, embraced Genk in his heart forever. Emile Van Doren (1865-1949), a butcher’s son from Brussels, visited Genk for the first time as a student of the Académie des Beaux-Arts in the late 1880s. A few years later, Van Doren came to live in Genk for good. Together with his wife Cidonie Raikem he established the Hôtel des Artistes. Later they moved, together with their daughter Stephanie (Fanny) to the Villa Le Coin Perdu, along the Verloren Kostweg (now the Henri Decleenestraat). After the death of her father, Fanny inherited Le Coin Perdu. In 1956 she bequeathed the Villa Le Coin Perdu and its contents to the city of Genk. In 1976, the Emile Van Doren Museum opened its doors. In addition to the rich collection of Emile Van Doren, the museum collection has been expanded in recent years with donations and targeted acquisitions and tells, in this way, the entire story of the Genk, the painter’s place.

www.emilevandorenmuseum.be

About the location

Emile Van Doren Museum
Henri Decleenestraat 21 – Genk

OPEN:  Emile Van Doren Museum Thu > Sun – 2 p.m. > 6 p.m. | The artworks on the grounds outside are always accessible.

The Emile Van Dorenmuseum is only partially accessible for wheelchair users: the garden and the ground floor of the museum are accessible. There is also public parking for disability parking permit holders.

ROUTE GENK

De Unie Hasselt-Genk | Une initiative de

l'art dans l'espace public

De ROCK show – Heterotopie, plaats van het anders zijn – Host: Erik Odijk

Musée Emile Van Doren – Genk

Avec de nombreux autres artistes, Erik Odijk rend à la villa Emile Van Doren sa fonction de lieu de rencontre. Les œuvres d’art évoquent une expérience collective de voyages, de paysages, de pierres et de Sublime, et forment ensemble un portrait paysagé inhabituel.

De ROCK show s’inspire des “duivelsteen” qui ont été trouvées à proximité du musée Emile Van Doren. Le but vise à donner une vision d’ensemble des pierres, roches, montagnes, formations géologiques, ainsi que les associations mentales qui en découlent.

Point de rassemblement des Gedenkstenen voor verloren dierbaren (pierres commémoratives pour les êtres chers disparus)

Point de rassemblement des Gedenkstenen voor verloren dierbaren (pierres commémoratives pour les êtres chers disparus)
Une pierre comme symbole du souvenir. Une autre comme objet rituel pour célébrer quelqu’un. Une collection de stèles pour réunir tous ces souvenirs et pensées et les transformer en monuments commémoratifs. Au De ROCK show est créé un lieu mettant en valeur ces pierres jalousement conservées. Leur signification est univoque. C’est la fascination personnelle pour une pierre qui a été autrefois spécialement extraite de la terre, taillée, pour devenir symbole et artefact d’une pensée personnelle pour un proche disparu. Ces souvenirs sont projetés sur de sublimes objets du temps jadis qui concentrent cette énergie, la force des sensations et de l’esprit en une énergie collective sur le site voisin du musée Emile Van Doren à Genk

Artistes participants à De ROCK show

Artistes participants à De ROCK show: Jean Bernard Koeman, Rudy J. Luijters, Ives Maes, Melanie Bonajo, Jimmy Durham, Franziz Denyz, Vaast Colson, Erlend Williamson, Tom Wolseley, Ania Rachmat, Lara de Moor, PINK de Thierry, François Roffiaen, complété par une pierre de philosophes et des œuvres de la collection du Musée Emile Van Doren, y compris Emile Van Doren (1865-1949), Joseph Coosemans (1828-1904), Ludovic Janssen (1888-1956), Herman Richir (1866-1942) en Elinor Barnard (1872-1942).

Idée et composition : Erik Odijk (en collaboration avec Bernie Deekens)
Pour la coordination et la production de De ROCK show, les artistes sont assistés par MAP – MakeArtProjects.
Projet d’impression et billboard Melanie Bonajo: Yvonne van Versendaal

Remerciements à :
Z33, Toneelhuis Antwerpen, EWAF (Erlend Williamson Art Fellowship), Het KröllerMüller Museum (Filosofensteen), Gemeentemuseum Helmond (PINK de Thierry), Stedelijk Museum Ieper (François Roffiaen), Yvonne van Versendaal (concept) et MAP – Make Art Projects (coordination et exécution technique), Kristof Reulens et Ann Gielen du Musée Emile Van Doren, Tom van Gestel. Et Erik Odijk, compositeur et assembleur, pour son énergie démesurée et son implication sans limites.

Ce projet a été rendu possible grâce à :
Melotte – Direct Digital Manufacturing

Erik Odijk

Né en 1959, Deventer (NL), réside et travaille à Amsterdam et Nimègue (NL)

Erik Odijk réalise des dessins sur la nature et est surtout connu pour ses œuvres pharaoniques que l’on peut embrasser du regard. Il conjugue le sublime (immense, brut, désordonné) et le propre (petit, lisse, doux et riche). Lors de ses voyages à l’étranger, Odijk puisse son inspiration de sites naturels qu’il fixe sur pellicule sensible. Aussi minutieuse que le dessin, la photographie fait partie intégrante de son œuvre. La photo, qui forme la base de ses dessins, y occupe de plus en plus souvent une place autonome. Après une sélection pointue, Erik Odijk les transpose dans des dessins au fusain et au pastel, en grand ou petit format, sur site ou dans son atelier.

erikodijk.nl

Duivelstenen (stèles commémoratives)

Fasciné par la géologie et la formation rocheuse, Erik Odijk s’est entre autres inspiré des “duivelstenen” (stèles commémoratives), d’anciennes pierres commémoratives typiques retrouvées à proximité du musée Emile Van Doren. Il s’agit de grandes stèles en grès aux formes biscornues. Certaines portent une gravure en forme de fer à cheval, qui rappelle les sabots de bouc du diable. Ces pierres commémoratives se trouvent au Kattevennen, dans la forêt à l’entrée du Nationaal Park Hoge Kempen (Parc National de Haute Campine).

Emile Van Doren

Emile Van Doren (né à Bruxelles 1865 / + Genk 1949) est né d’un père boucher bruxellois et a brièvement étudié à la faculté de Pharmacie de l’ULB. Sans le consentement parental, il s’est parallèlement inscrit à l’Académie de Bruxelles, où il trouva sa vocation définitive et se spécialisa dans l’art de la peinture paysagère. Il s’établit à Genk vers 1890, lorsque la localité était très prisée et connue des artistes et écrivains. Emile Van Doren tomba sous le charme, non seulement des paysages campinois étendus, mais également de Cidonie Raikem, exploitante d’une auberge dans la rue de la gare (Stationsstraat). Ils la transformèrent en Hotel des Artistes. Depuis, la bruyère mélancolique et les marais marécageux de Genk et des environs devinrent le sujet exclusif de ses toiles. Il fit construire en 1913 la villa Le Coin Perdu, donnant sur l’étang du Molenvijver. C’est là qu’est établi aujourd’hui le Musée Emile Van Doren.

La Musée d’Emile Van Doren

Le musée Emile Van Doren relate l’histoire d’un site de création artistique singulier, qu’était Genk entre 1840 et 1940. Le musée porte le nom d’un des peintres qui succomba littéralement au charme de Genk après sa première visite. Emile Van Doren (1865-1949), fils de boucher bruxellois, suivit pour la première fois l’Académie des Beaux-Arts à Genk fin des années 1880 et s’y établit pour de bon quelques années plus tard. Avec son épouse Cidonie Raikem, il y érigea l’Hôtel des Artistes. Avec leur fille Stephanie (Fanny), ils emménagèrent un peu plus tard dans la villa Le Coin Perdu, le long du Verloren Kostweg (aujourd’hui rue Henri Decleenestraat). À la mort de son père, Fanny hérita du Coin Perdu. Elle céda la villa et tout son mobilier à la ville de Genk en 1956. Le musée Emile Van Doren ouvrit ses portes 20 ans plus tard. Outre le beau patrimoine des Van Doren, la collection du musée s’étoffa ces dernières années de legs et d’achats ciblés afin de relater dans sa globalité ce site artistique de Genk.

Sur la location

Musée Emile Van Doren
Henri Decleenestraat 21 – Genk

OUVERT: Musée Emile Van Doren  jeu-dim – 14-18h | Les pièces d’art sur le terrain à l’extérieur sont toujours accessibles

Le musée Emile Van Doren est seulement partiellement accessible aux utilisateurs de fauteuil roulant.

LA ROUTE GENK